We’ll Always Have Paris

Ah Paris, the European capital of delicious things. I love Paris, it’s a well known fact that I’ll try and find any excuse to go and with living so close to London it’s pretty easy to hop on the Eurostar and be there in two hours. I love seeing the sites and shopping. But most of all I love the bakeries. Fresh bread, pastries and cakes. I mean, who doesn’t love that? I’ve been to Paris quite a few times but this time I went with purpose – spend money in bakeries! Well that actually wasn’t the sole purpose but that was one of the things I ended up doing!

I stayed with a friend out in Montrouge for this trip. Montrouge is located in the southern Parisian suburbs at the end of metro line 4. It’s a way out of the busy centre and means I only have to deal with the hustle and bustle when I want to head in and do or see something specific. I also has a great little market which is open on Thursdays and Sundays (Sunday has a slightly bigger market). Between the place I was staying and the Metro is a conveniently located bakery – Les Gourmandises du Marché. I say conveniently located but what I really mean is a dangerously located bakery. It’s impossible to just walk past without buying something. And that something was always chouquettes! Chouquettes are little balls of choux pastry covered in pearl sugar (or nibbed sugar) and they are a delicious snack. You can get 100g of unfilled chouquettes for 2€ and you won’t regret it one bit.

  • Les Gourmandises du Marché, 1 Rue Victor Hugo, 92120 Montrouge, France
After hearing about what seemed to be a rather strange French-Japanese fusion I took a trip to Aki Boulanger. Walking round the corner from Pyramides metro stop I had lunch in Aki – a japanese restaurant, (not to be confused with Aki Boulanger) before heading over the road to buy some dessert. This is a well known bakery and Trip Advisor currently rates it as 6 out of 260 bakeries in Paris which is pretty impressive. As well as the traditional French breads and pastries one of their speciality breads is called melon bread is comes in a variety of flavours and they have quite a few green tea delights to add to the mix as well. As well as melon bread I also tried a green tea sponge and cream roulade (I’m not exactly sure what it was called) as well as a traditional chocolate éclair. All were great, I recommend anything green tea-like and I have to say that the chocolate éclair, generously filled with chocolate cream, was the best éclair I’ve ever eaten. Reasonable prices, add it on to your places to go list in Paris.
  • Aki Boulanger, 16 rue Saint-Anne, 75001 Paris, France

A short walk from the Porte d’Orléans metro station is another fantastic bakery I’ve been meaning to try out since my last trip – Threvnin. Walking past, the tarts and pastries catch your eye and draw you in and this time I could afford it! Although not unreasonably priced this purchase was a definite luxury. Individual cakes and tarts cost between 4-6€ each but as there were three of us we chose two each and shared them all! My favourite was a chocolate hazelnut dessert which was a hazelnut mousse encased in a chocolate hazelnut coating, adorned with some candied hazelnuts. The caramel apple dessert which is made of apples, creme patissiere, caramel and a shiny glaze which was adorned with a tiny macaron was light, not over sweet at all and also super delicious. I think this is one of my favourite bakeries in Paris. Note: you will not need many of these cakes to get a patisserie fix. I think I almost died tasting all six.
  • Threvenin, 119 Avenue du Général Leclerc, 75014 Paris, France

This is a little cheeky but my next go-to in Paris is a bit of a cheat. I didn’t go this time but you should try it as least once if you go to Paris. Angelina is a classic French tearoom that was founded in 1903. It fast became the place to be and continues to pull in the crowds to this day. Trip Advisor currently rates this 3 out of 233 tea rooms in Paris and usually people are queueing out of the door! However, do not let this put you off! You might be waiting 45 minutes but their famous hot chocolate is an absolute must. When I went I joined the queue but we were soon in thanks to a bit of French understanding. The waitresses were asking down the queue asking in French how many you were. The majority of people in the queue were non-French speakers so thanks to my friend we jumped the queue! I made the mistake of ordering a chocolate dessert with my hot chocolate so I was in total chocolate overload but it was amazing. The hot chocolate wasn’t too heavy at all and simply tasted like someone had melted chocolate in a cup. 8€ may seem a tad excessive for a hot chocolate but you should try this at least once if you’re in Paris.
  • Angelina, 226 Rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France

Finally, one of my favourite bakeries to frequent in Paris is right in the tourist hub of the Latin Quarter. I came across Boulangerie Saint Michel on my first ever trip to Paris almost ten years ago now, and it continues to be one of the best bakeries in a sea of businesses trying to grab the tourist trade in central Paris. Saint Michel is one of my go-to metro stations. From here you can easily walk to Notre Dame, Rue de Rivoli, The Louvre, Musée de l’Orangerie and the Musée d’Orsay which means you can actually see Paris and not the grubby metro. It also means it’s the perfect stopping point to grab a bite to eat. If you want cheap food over something more high-end or you’re on a tight budget, head to the Latin Quarter. But if you want a very decent bakery do not write off Boulangerie Saint Michel because of it’s location. Prices are reasonable and they do excellent croissants.

  • Boulangerie Saint Michel, 1 Rue de La Harpe, 75005 Paris, France

Leave a Reply

