Spotlight on: Catwalk Cakes, Brighton

Last week I went on a bit of a jaunt to Brighton to meet a couple of my friends I don’t get to see very much. It was a really nice day and I’d not been to Brighton for years so I was relying on them to show me round the Lanes and take me somewhere nice for cake. And I have to say they didn’t disappoint one bit!

We decided to stop for a bit of tea and cake in Catwalk Cakes.

On first glance the shop itself seemed really small. After eyeing up the cupcakes in the window we headed in where it was in fact quite small. Only six small tables so I assume they do most of their business as takeaway and special order as they make cakes for weddings and other occasions.

Once inside the pretty cupcakes in the window were replaced by epic whole cakes. And when I say epic I really mean it. I suddenly changed my mind from ordering a cupcake and decided to go with a slice of cake. If anything could seduce me, salted caramel could, so I quickly decided on a slice of salted caramel cake and shared a pot of tea. A slice of cake set me back £3.85 but it was absolutely delicious. The sponge was soft and the butter cream was creamy, topped with ‘glass’ shards, caramel and fudge pieces.

There was so much to choose from and it all looked so tasty. My friends chose a red velvet cupcake and a lemon cupcake. I’ll have to return one day to try a cupcake too.

You can find Catwalk Cakes at 22 Bond Street, Brighton, BN1 1RD, UK.
They also have Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, so check them out!

*First image from Catwalk Cakes Facebook page

 

Leave a Reply

